The following is a comparative table of the tales in (1) the two early English metrical versions of the Seven Sages, 13th and 14th centuries, edited by Weber and Wright; (2) the French metrical Roman des Sept Sages, about 1284, edited by Keller; (3) the Latin prose text, Liber de Septem Sapientibus, edited by Goedeke;* and (4) the Latin prose version, Historia Septem Sapientum Romœ, Geneva, 1492, and its derivatives:

Ellis. Weber. Wright. Keller. Goedeke. Copland, Rolland.
Queen 1 Tree and Branch Id. Id. Id.
1st Sage Dog and Snake Id. Id. Id.
Queen 2 Wild Boar Queen 3 Id. Id.
2nd Sage Hippocrates Id. Id. 5th Sage
Queen 3 King's Treasury Queen 5 Id. Id.
3rd Sage Husband Shut Out Id. 4th Sage 2nd Sage
Queen 4 King and Seneschal Queen 2 Id. Queen 6
4th Sage Wise Old Man Id. 3rd Sage. Id.
Queen 5 Merlin's Pillar Queen 7 Id. Id.
5th Sage Burgess and Magpie Id. Id. 3rd Sage
Queen 6 VII Evil Counsellors Id. Id. Queen 4
6th Sage Widow Comforted Id. Id. 7th Sage
Queen 7 Siege of Rome Queen 4 Queen 6
7th Sage Two Dreams Id. Queen 7
Prince Ravens Id. Id. Id.
Queen 7, Daughter
7th Sage, Stepmother
6th Sage, Three Lovers

It will be observed that our old English versions have the same stories that occur in the Sept Sages, though not all in the same order; while the Liber de Septem Sapientibus has, in place of the Siege of Rome and the Dreams, two tales which reappear in several other texts represented in Goedeke's com­parative table, and are as follows: