[The conversion of dates from the Hijra to the Christian Era is based on Cunningham’s Book of Indian Eras. Appendices C and D have been compiled by my friend, Mr. Saed Zaman, M.A.]

1.  Accession of Jalaluddin Khilji—June, 1290.

2.  Rebellion of Malik Chajju, battle of Kulaibnagar; Malik ‘Alauddin Khilji appointed Governor of Karra-Manikpur (Allahabad)—1291.

3.  ‘Alauddin plunders Bhilsah—1294.

4.  Malik ‘Alauddin marches to Deogir without the Sultan’s permission; Ram Deo’s submission; ‘Alauddin returns with the spoils—winter of 1295-96.

5.  Assassination of Sultan Jalaluddin on the bank of the Ganges near Karra, July 19, 1296; ‘Alauddin is proclaimed Emperor and marches on Delhi—rainy season, 1296.

6.  Ulugh Khan and Zafar sent to Multan; siege of Multan; Arkali Khan and Ruknuddin Ibrahim submit and are imprisoned—winter of 1296-97.

7.  Invasion of Kadar; Ulugh Khan sent against the Mughals; Battle of Jaran Manjur, February 6, 1298.

8.  Ulugh Khan and Nusrat Khan conquer Gujrat and Cambay; Bhim Deo is defeated and his harem captured; revolt of the ‘New Muslims’ while the army was returning—winter of 1299-1300.

9.  Zafar Khan recaptures Siwistan (Sehwan); Saldi and his Mughals are brought captive to Delhi—winter of 1299-1300.

10.  Invasion of Kuttugh Khwaja; battle of Kili—1300.

11.  ‘Alauddin besieges Rantambhor—Summer of 1301; Akat Khan attempts to assassinate the Emperor at Tilpat; rebellions of ‘Umar and Mangu in Badaun and Oudh and of Haji Maula in Delhi; fall of Rantambhor—June 29, 1301. The rebellions during the siege led ‘Alauddin and his council to promulgate a series of administrative reforms for the suppression of rebellions, the better government of the country and the reorganization of the revenue system.

12.  ‘Alauddin marches to Chitor and lays siege to the fort; fall of the fort— August 25, 1303.

13.  Malik Fakhruddin Jauna is sent by way of Bengal to Arangal but returns to the Doab after losing his men and material—1303.

14.  Targhi, the Mughal, marches from Mawaraun Nahr; Sultan ‘Alauddin entrenches his camp at Siri—winter of 1303-4. The retreat of Targhi was followed by the famous economic regulations, which kept prices stable and enabled ‘Alauddin to muster an army of 450,000. The forts on the route of the Mughals were repaired and garrisoned.

15.  Invasion of Ali Beg, Tartaq and Targhi; battle of Amroha—December 30, 1305.

16.  Conquest of Malwa; defeat of Kuka Pardhan; ‘Ainul Mulk Multani captures Mandu—November 24, 1305.

17.  Invasions of Kapak, Iqbal and Tai Bu—probably the winter of 1306-7, but authorities differ and give no exact dates. (See note at the end of Chap. III.)

18.  Campaign of Arangal—the army is absent from Delhi from December 31, 1309 to June 10, 1310; the Malik Naib reaches Deogir, December 28; Siege of Arangal commences, January 19, 1310; the Imperialists capture the outer fort of mud—February 6, 1310; Submission of Laddar Deo; the army starts from Arangal with its spoils—March 20, 1310.

19.  ‘Alauddin starts for Siwana—June 10, 1310; fall of the fort, probably August 19, 1310.

20.  Kamaluddin Gurg reduces Jalore—1310.

21.  Campaign of Ma’abar and Dhur Samandar—the army is absent from Delhi from November 20, 1310 to October 30, 1311; Siege of Dhur Samandar (Dwara Samudra)—February 11 and 12, 1311.

22.  The Malik Naib invades Deogir—probably winter of 1314 and 1315. Barni refers to this invasion, but no detailed record of it has been given by any of the Khilji historians.

23.  Death of Sultan ‘Alauddin—February 3, 1315.