Of the number of years assigned to the reigns of particular kings, the Persian historians so considerably disagree in their accounts, that any attempt to reconcile them, at present, would exceed the limits which I have prescribed to this Epitome. Much confusion may have arisen from mis­taking the years of a king’s life for those of his reign; to what extent it has prevailed, will appear from the following general statements of each Dynasty’s duration, according to various records, differing in their calculations from the Tarikh Jehan Ara.

The first Dynasty, or the Peishda­dian, lasted,
According to an anonymous Tarikh, 2441 years.
Tarikh Hamzeh ben Hosein Isfa­hani, 2470 years.
According to a manuscript catalogue of Persian kings, annexed to a fine copy of the Shah-Nameh, British Museum (No. 5600) 2481 years.
Tarikh Behram Shah ben Murdan Shah, 2734 years.
The Second Dynasty, or the Caianian,
According to the manuscript cata­logue above mentioned, 534 years, six months.
Anonymous Tarikh, 684 years, four months.
Tarikh Kapchak Khani, 752 years.
Anonymous, 770 years.
Third Dynasty, or Ashcanian, with the Ashghanian, lasted,
According to the Jehan Ara, 318 years.
According to the manuscript cata­logue before mentioned, 200 years.
Anonymous Tarikh, 217 years.
A Ravaiet, or book of Parsi tradi­tions, 265 years.
Tarikh Moagem, from different chronicles, 430 years.—Another cal­culation, 268 years.
The Leb al Touarikh, 350 years.
Tarikh Gozideh, 380 years.
Hamzeh Isfahani, 394 years.
Tarikh Moagem, from different chronicles, 430.
9. Baharam ben Murdan Shah, 469 years.
Fourth Dynasty, or Sassanian,
According to Baharam ben Murdan Shah, 456 years, one month, twenty-two days.
Hamzeh Isfahani, 457 years, three months, seven days.
Anonymous Tarikh, 484 years, six months.
Leb al Touarikh, 521 years.
Tarikh Kapchak Khani, 521 years.
Merat al Aulum, 521 years.
Manuscript catalogue, 542 years.

I reserve for my future work, a more minute calculation of each par­ticular King’s reign, taken from the Tarikh Tabari, the Tarikh Moagem, the Subah Saduk, the Rouzet al Sefa, the Khelasset al Akhbar, the Zein al Akhbar, the Nizam al Towarikh, and many other records, which I shall endeavour to reconcile with the dates of European chronologers.